Belen Harvey House Museum – 505-861-0581 – Visit Our Website!
Welcome to the Belen Harvey House Museum. This Harvey House operated from 1910 to 1939 as a first-class Fred Harvey Restaurant and it served the Atchison Topeka & Santa Fe Railroad passengers. The iconic Harvey Girls lived in the upstairs dorm rooms.
In the 1940s, the Belen Harvey House reopened during World War II, with many Harvey Girls coming out of retirement to serve troop trains. In the 1950s, it became the Santa Fe Railroad Reading Room and served railroad employees with a breakroom and dormitory through the 1970s.
With the building ready for demolition, a campaign by the local citizens saved the building. In 1982, the Santa Fe Railroad donated the building to the City of Belen and hundreds of volunteers began restoring it. The Building was repurposed and became completely devoted as the Harvey House Museum and features a large collection of Fred Harvey memorabilia, historic railroad and Belen artifacts.
Today the Belen Harvey House Museum specializes in Harvey House, railroad, Southwest and regional history as a branch of the Belen Public Library.
The museum is open to the public, offers guided tours and boasts the best view of Belen’s incredible railyard and history. The Belen Harvey House Museum is overseen by Kathleen Pickering, Director, Belen Public Library and Harvey House Museum; Community Services Administrator.
Our Hours of Operation:
Wednesday through Saturday
Guided Tours every half hour starting at :
12:00 noon, 12:30, 1:00, 1:30, 2:00, 2:30, 3:00 & 3:30 pm.
Private, motor coach and group tours available. Please call 505-861-0581 to schedule your visit.